Ask a Librarian!
Obama Transition
President Elect Barack Obama is the 44th President of the United States and the first African American to hold the office of Commander in Chief. Click on the links below to read about issues facing the Obama Administration.
Contact Us
Phone
646-5792 or (866) 835-9826
webref@lib.nmsu.edu
IM
buddy name: asknmsulib
Text
Send a text message to 265010. The body of the message must start with - asknmsulib: then your message.
Government Documents at NMSU's Branson Library
This guide is a select list of reference and research resources covering the use of United States Government Publications.
The New Mexico State University Library is one of approximately 1,200 academic, public, and special libraries nationwide that participate in the Federal Depository Library Program by providing free public access to U.S. government information.
The NMSU Library became a federal depository in 1907, and selects about 67% of items available from the Government Printing Office. As of June, 2004, the collection was made up of approximately 974,800 documents (440,000 paper, 525,000 microform, 1600 CDROM/DVDs, and 8,200 web resources). Documents are selected to meet the research needs of New Mexico State University and the New Mexico 2nd Congressional District, and include areas such as agriculture, trade, statistics, federal regulations, science and technical publications, and census data. The collection is shelved according to the Superindendent of Documents Classification.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide. If you need additional help, have a question, or would like to schedule a consultation with a librarian, please contact us using the information on the left side of this page.
Looking for books?
Government Documents are housed separately on the second floor of NMSU's Branson Library. They are shelved by Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) numbers.
The Library's print and electronic book collection can be searched by using the library catalog. To search book collections beyond those owned by the NMSU Library, use WorldCat. Books not owned by NMSU can be borrowed from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan, or
.
For a guide to finding books related to Government Documents, use the Books tab at the top of the page. Remember that you can set limits on your search in the NMSU Library Catalog to: location/U.S. Government Documents to find only Government Documents.
Looking for articles?
Many different databases provide online indexes to articles published in journals, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, etc. A list of the databases to which the NMSU library subscribes can be found here. Journal articles not available via the Library's subscriptions can be obtained from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan, or
.
For a guide to finding articles related to Government Documents, use the Databases tab at the top of the page.
Looking for journals?
Journals are available in print and/or electronic formats. To see if the Library subscribes to a journal, search by the title of the journal:
- Search for electronic holding via the Electronic Journals List.
- Search for print holdings in the Library Catalog.
Many library resources and services are restricted to NMSU students, faculty, and staff. If you are off-campus, use your myNMSU name and password to log into library resources when prompted.
H1N1 (Swine) Flu Information
Government Documents about the previous swine flu scare in the 1970's:
These are currently displayed on the New Books shelf on the second floor of Branson Library at the top of the stairs outside the Government Documents Unit. They are available for check-out:
The
swine flu affair : decision-making on a slippery disease Doc HE 1.2:Sw 6
Suspension
of the swine flu immunization program, 1976 : hearing before the... Doc Y 4.L 11/2:Sw 6/976
Swine flu immunization program, 1976 : hearing before the Subcommittee on... Doc Y 4.L 11/2:F 67/976
Link to Center for Disease Control (CDC) to sign up to Twitter for latest information.
Go to the following links for information on the current situation:
- New Mexico Department of Health - Swine Flu Information
- Center for Disease Control Video about swine flu
"In this video, Dr. Joe Bresee, with the CDC Influenza Division, describes swine flu - its signs and symptoms, how it's transmitted, medicines to treat it, steps people can take to protect themselves from it, and what people should do if they become ill." - Information from the Center for Disease Control
Find out the latest statistics on the swine flu and recommendations related to the epidemic. Watch a CDC podcast about the swine flu. Get help for professionals. - Health and Human Services Declares Public Health Emergency
Economic Recovery Information from the IRS
Link below to read details on highlights of the
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009
Expansion of home buyer credit
Spring 2008 payroll check increase
Money back for new vehicle purchase
Cobra continuation subsidies
$250 for Social Security recipients, veterans and railroad
- American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009
- Stimulus Watch
This interactive non-government site tracks the "shovel ready" projects that could be candidates for stimulus package funds. - Financial Stability / U.S. Treasury Stimulus Plan Information
Links to various resources including:
Consumer and Business Lending Initiative
Borrower information for home buyers
Capital Assistance Program
Financial Stability Plan - remarks by Tim Geithner
Press releases
Having trouble? Have a question?
If you need additional help, have a question, or would like to schedule a consultation with a librarian, please contact us using the information on the left side of this page.
Subject Guide |
Dotty OrmesGovernment Documents & Maps Librarian
Branson Library
575-646-4385
ormesd@lib.nmsu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Government
American Library Association Legislative Action Center
Have an idea?
Have an idea for a web site that should be added to this guide?
Let me know!
Description
Loading content... please wait



Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait