It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is an authoritative website about the entire history of art that includes images with descriptive information, essays, and maps from the museum collection. Search by artist's last name or style/period of art.
Art & Architecture Thesaurus provides access to metadata about art, architecture, and cultural heritage, both extant and historical. The metadata is gathered or linked from museum collections, special collections, archives, libraries, scholarly research, and other sources.
The National Gallery of Art in Washington DC online collection offers tens of thousands of images. Browse or search the collection and make connections among objects you know and newly discovered masterpieces
The J. Paul Getty Museum collection comprises Greek, Roman, and Etruscan art from the Neolithic to Late Antiquity; European art—including illuminated manuscripts, paintings, drawings, sculpture, and decorative arts—from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century; and international photography from its inception to the present day.
Print Reference Books -- Here are some selections to get you started!
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of art throughout the entire world, across all centuries.