Join in discussions with your archival questions, take virtual tours of local repositories, and hear presentations about archives, history, and culture with a focus on the New Mexico, Texas, Chihuahua borderlands region.
Date: Thursday, October 29th
Time: Noon – 4:00 p.m. (Mountain Daylight Time)
Register: https://forms.gle/J3q3zBtDKPAdiJaC8
Follow: https://www.facebook.com/BRarchives

Schedule

Noon-12:15 – Welcome and introduction, Border Regional Archives Group members

12:15-12:35 – Sources on Women’s Rights in the UTEP Library, Abbie Weiser, University of Texas at El Paso Library Special Collections

12:35-12:45 – Panoramic Photography, Elizabeth Villa, New Mexico State University Library Archives & Special Collections

12:45-1:00 – Overview of Archival Collections at WSMR, Jenn Jett, White Sands Missile Range Museum

1:00-1:20 – Virtual tour of historic railroad sites and architecture in and around the Downtown El Paso, Prince McKenzie, Railroad and Transportation Museum of El Paso

1:20-1:30 – Q&A and open discussion

1:30-1:45 – Mexican Broadsides from Cd. Juarez, 1880-1920, Dennis Daily, New Mexico State University Library Archives & Special Collections

1:45-2:00 – Menu and Cookbook Collections at UTEP Special Collections, Claudia Rivers, University of Texas at El Paso Library Special Collections

2:00-2:15 – Behind the Scenes at NMSU Special Collections, Dylan McDonald, New Mexico State University Library Archives & Special Collections

2:15-2:30 – Archival Resources of the Dona Ana County Clerk’s Office, Angelica Valenzuela, Dona Ana County Clerk and Recorder’s Office

2:30-2:45 – The Journal of Astronaut Gordo Cooper, Sue Taylor, New Mexico Museum of Space History

2:45-3:00 – Tiny Books, Regina Bouley-Sweeten, Eastern New Mexico University Golden Library; Claudia Rivers, University of Texas at El Paso Library Special Collections

3:00-3:15 – Photography Talk, David Flores, University of Texas at El Paso Library Special Collections

3:15-3:30 – Bringing Local History to Life through Mandy the Mule, Claudia Ramirez, El Paso Public Library Border Heritage Center

3:30- 4:00 – Sharing Favorite Items from our Collections, Discussion and Q&A, Border Regional Archives Group members

Please contact Abbie Weiser (ahweiser@utep.edu) or Dennis Daily (ddaily@nmsu.edu) with any questions.

_________________

The presentations with embedded captions, audio transcript and text chat transcript can be found here.