A variety of primary and secondary source documents on multiple topics are available for teaching and learning through the New Mexico State University Library (NMSU). Many of the items in the digital collections are part of NMSU Library’s Archives and Specials Collections.
Use the links and materials below to learn more about teaching with digital collections. We are available to help you use digitized and born-digital collections in order to meet a wide variety of learning goals. If you have questions, ideas or want to learn more about using NMSU’s digital collections, please contact the Digital Projects Collections Team directly.
Introduce your students to Archives & Special Collections and primary source research online. Use digital collections and surrogates to help students understand the context of a digital source, engage with data, and make connections between digital materials and course themes.
Use primary source sets for students to interpret and engage in document analysis, build narrative between sources, and contribute to scholarly communications through transcription, annotation, and other activities.
Using digital collections in the classroom allows instructors and students to engage with primary source materials. Creating lesson plans that utilize digital collections can be time consuming and challenging. Here are a few ideas on using NMSU's digital collections in your classroom. We are available to help you design engaging and meaningful synchronous and/or asynchronous classroom activities and assignments that make use of digitized and born-digital collections in order to meet a wide variety of learning goals. If you have questions, ideas or want to learn more about using NMSU’s digital collections, please contact the Digital Projects Collections Team directly.