Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy

Find Articles

What are Library Databases?

Databases are online indexes to the contents of journals, magazines, and newspapers. They are what you'd use to find articles on a particular topic. The NMSU Library provides access to over 150 different databases, many of which are subject-specific (ie, business or health).

The following databases will give you a good starting point as you work on your research for this class. If you are not finding what you are looking for, try another database or feel free to ask us!

Finding an article from a citation

Sample citation:

Greenhill, Jennifer A. "Troubled Abstraction: Whiteness In Charles Dana Gibson And George Du Maurier."Art History 34.4 (2011): 732-753..

1. From the Library's main web page, select the Find Articles tab
2. Then click on - Citation Linker is useful if you already have a reference or citation
3. Fill out the citation form. Include: article title, journal title, volume and beginning page number. 

 

4. If the journal is available online, the screen will display links to databases where you can retrieve your article.

 

5. If not available online, search the library catalog for print journal holdings

6. If you can’t find the journal listed in your citation either online or in print, use the Interlibrary Loan  service to obtain a copy of the article.