Below is a list of selected reference works with useful information for specific needs:
A Glossary of Computing Terms by
Reviewer's Comments from Earlier Editions: "Very highly recommended to all those whose activities bring them anywhere within spitting distance of computers." Physics Bulletin "A most useful work." University Computing "A thoroughly useful publication." School Science Review "should be available in all schools and tertiary institutions teaching courses in computing or information technology." Physics Education The world of computers is fast-moving and filled with jargon, so keeping up to date with the terminology involved can be a daunting task. The tenth edition of this well-established authoritative glossary assumes no previous computing knowledge and uses simple language and numerous illustrations to guide the reader. The glossary explains over 3000 computing terms. Its unique structure links related terms together in such a way that the definitions are always placed in context to help understanding. The text is structured around four themes: how computer systems are used; what they are made of; how they are developed; and how they work. It includes over 40 detailed introductions to sections, illustrating how terms may be used in a written context and providing background information for each section. Features over 3000 terms explained a new section drawing together general computing terms allows quick and easy access to terms and guides the reader to related terms where applicable comprehensively indexed contains lists of common abbreviations and acronyms. A Glossary of Computing Terms has been compiled by a working party of The British Computer Society's Schools Committee and has provided a standardized interpretation of computing terms for use in Information Systems, Information Technology, and Computing courses at GCSE level and upwards. It will also be a useful reference for any courses where computers are used and will be invaluable for anyone needing a painless introduction to computer technology.
Computer Science Handbook by
When you think about how far and fast computer science has progressed in recent years, it's not hard to conclude that a seven-year-old handbook may fall a little short of the kind of reference today's computer scientists, software engineers, and IT professionals need. With a broadened scope, more emphasis on applied computing, and more than 70 chapters, new or significantly revised, the Computer Science Handbook, Second Edition is exactly the kind of reference you need. This rich collection of theory and practice fully characterizes the current state of the field and conveys the modern spirit, accomplishments, and direction of computer science. Highlights of the Second Edition: Coverage that reaches across all 11 subject areas of the discipline as defined in Computing Curricula 2001, now the standard taxonomy. More than 70 chapters revised or replaced Emphasis on a more practical/applied approach to IT topics such as information management, net-centric computing, and human-computer interaction. More than 150 contributing authors -- all recognized experts in their respective specialties. New chapters on cryptography computational chemistry computational astrophysics human-centered software development cognitive modeling transaction processing data compression scripting languages event driven programming software architecture.
The Computer and Information Science and Technology Abbreviations and Acronyms Dictionary by
Written for the professional and the layman, the book provides the meanings of important and interesting acronyms in the broad area of computing and information science and technology. The acronyms and abbreviations contained in this book were created by the men and women of the computer and information age to save time and space and eliminate unnecessary repetition and wordage. The book is of value to engineers, scientists, technologists, executives and managers in technical fields, programmers, systems analysts, writers, and computer owners or potential buyers.
Handbook of Object Technology by
The object oriented paradigm has become one of the dominant forces in the computing world. According to a recent survey, by the year 2000, more than 80% of development organizations are expected to use object technology as the basis for their distributed development strategies. Handbook of Object Technology encompasses the entire spectrum of disciplines and topics related to this rapidly expanding field - outlining emerging technologies, latest advances, current trends, new specifications, and ongoing research. The handbook divides into 13 sections, each containing chapters related to that specific discipline. Up-to-date, non-abstract information provides the reader with practical, useful knowledge - directly applicable to the understanding and improvement of the reader's job or the area of interest related to this technology. Handbook of Object Technology discusses: the processes, notation, and tools for classical OO methodologies as well as information on future methodologies prevalent and emerging OO languages standards and specifications frameworks and patterns databases metrics business objects intranets analysis/design tools client/server application development environments
The Handbook of Mobile Middleware by
Device miniaturization, wireless computing, and mobile communication are driving ubiquitous, pervasive, and transparent computing. Supporting these rapidly evolving technologies requires middleware solutions that address connectivity-level, location-dependent, and context-dependent issues. The Handbook of Mobile Middleware is an exhaustive overview of recent developments in the various fields related to this infrastructure software. Authored by internationally recognized experts, this advanced reference integrates valuable insight gained from actual system deployments. It begins by presenting mobile middleware requirements and technologies, then offers solutions organized by such challenges as mobility/disconnection handling, location-based support, and context-based support. This volume focuses on the application domains in which mobile middleware has demonstrated its feasibility and effectiveness and details the pros, cons, and trade-offs of each solution. The book also analyzes future directions of mobile applications, including wearable computing, ubiquitous entertainment, and context-dependent distribution.
Below is a list of selected e-reference works with useful information for specific needs:
America's Top 101 Computer and Technical Jobs by
Current, interesting, thorough descriptions of more than 100 careers presented in convenient alphabetic order, including careers in computer and Web technology, health care, science, communications, manufacturing, and finance. Plus, there's a bonus section with advice proven to cut job search time in half, including sample resumes by professional resume writers for computer and technical jobs covered in the book.
C++ the Core Language by
C++ is an object-oriented enhancement of the C programming language and is becoming the language of choice for serious software development. C++ has crossed the Single Book Complexity Barrier. The individual features are not all that complex, but when put together in a program they interact in highly non-intuitive ways. Many books discuss each of the features separately, giving readers the illusion that they understand the language. But when they try to program, they're in for a painful surprise (even people who already know C). C++: The Core Language is for C programmers transitioning to C++. It's designed to get readers up to speed quickly by covering an essential subset of the language. The subset consists of features without which it's just not C++ and a handful of others that make it a reasonably useful language. You can actually use this subset (using any compiler) to get familiar with the basics of the language. Once you really understand that much, it's time to do some programming and learn more from other books. After reading this book, you'll be far better equipped to get something useful out of a reference manual, a graphical user interface programming book, and maybe a book on the specific libraries you'll be using. (Take a look at our companion book, Practical C++ Programming.) C++: The Core Language includes sidebars that give overviews of all the advanced features not covered so that readers know they exist and how they fit in. It covers features common to all C++ compilers, including those on UNIX, Windows NT, Windows, DOS, and Macintosh. Comparison: C++: The Core Language vs. Practical C++ Programming O'Reilly's policy is not to publish two books on the same topic for the same audience. We'd rather spend twice the time on making one book the industry's best. So why do we have two C++ tutorials? Which one should you get? The answer is they're very different. Steve Oualline, author of the successful book Practical C Programming, came to us with the idea of doing a C++ edition. Thus, was born Practical C++ Programming. It's a comprehensive tutorial to C++, starting from the ground up. It also covers the programming process, style, and other important real-world issues. By providing exercises and problems with answers, the book helps you make sure you understand before you move on. While that book was under development, we received the proposal for C++: The Core Language. Its innovative approach is to cover only a subset of the language -- the part that's most important to learn first -- and to assume readers already know C. The idea is that C++ is just too complicated to learn all at once. So, you learn the basics solidly from this short book, which prepares you to understand some of the 200+ other C++ books and to start programming. These two books are based on different philosophies and are for different audiences. But there is one way in which they work together. If you are a C programmer, we recommend you start with C++: The Core Language then read about advanced topics and real-world problems in Practical C++ Programming.
E-Mail Virus Protection Handbook by
The E-mail Virus Protection Handbook is organized around specific e-mail clients, server environments, and anti-virus software. The first eight chapters are useful to both users and network professionals; later chapters deal with topics relevant mostly to professionals with an emphasis on how to use e-mail filtering software to monitor all incoming documents for malicious behavior. In addition, the handbook shows how to scan content and counter email address forgery attacks. A chapter on mobile code applications, which use Java applets and Active X controls to infect email and, ultimately, other applications and whole systems is presented. The book covers spamming and spoofing: Spam is the practice of sending unsolicited emails to users. One spam attack can bring down an entire enterprise email system by sending thousands of bogus messages or "mailbombing," which can overload servers. Email spoofing means that users receive messages that appear to have originated from one user, but in actuality were sent from another user. Email spoofing can be used to trick users into sending sensitive information, such as passwords or account numbers, back to the spoofer.
Essential System Administration by
Essential System Administration takes an in-depth look at the fundamentals of Unix system administration in a real-world, heterogeneous environment. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced administrator, you'll quickly be able to apply its principles and advice to your everyday problems. The book approaches Unix system administration from the perspective of your job -- the routine tasks and troubleshooting that make up your day. Whether you're dealing with frustrated users, convincing uncomprehending management that you need new hardware, rebuilding the kernel, or simply adding new users, you'll find help in this book. You'll also learn about backup and restore and how to set up printers, secure your system, and perform many other system administration tasks. But the book is not for full-time system administrators alone. Linux users and others who administer their own systems will benefit from its practical, hands-on approach. This second edition has been updated for all major Unix platforms, including SunOS 4.1, Solaris 2.4, AIX 4.1, Linux 1.1, Digital Unix, OSF/1, SCO Unix Version 3, HP/UX Versions 9 and 10, and IRIX Version 6. The entire book has been thoroughly reviewed and tested on all of the platforms covered. In addition, networking, electronic mail, security, and kernel configuration topics have been expanded substantially. Topics covered include: Starting up and shutting down your system; Adding new users; Managing processes; System security; Organizing and planning file systems; Planning and performing backups; Setting up pointers; TCP/IP networking; Setting up email; Adding terminals and disk drives; Setting up and using the accounting system
Handbook of Natural Language Processing by
This study explores the design and application of natural language text-based processing systems, based on generative linguistics, empirical copus analysis, and artificial neural networks. It emphasizes the practical tools to accommodate the selected system.
The Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Performance Optimization and Tuning Handbook by
Learn from a SQL Server performance authority how to make your database run at lightning speed. Ken England's SQL Server 6.5 Performance Optimization and Tuning Handbook is recognized by SQL Server administrators as the indispensable guide to tuning and optimization. Now he's revised the book for Microsoft's new SQL Server 2000, the most advanced and powerful version yet of SQL Server, which takes full advantage of Windows 2000's new processing capabilities. The book details the factors that determine database performance and offers readers tools, techniques and best practices they can use to tweak and tune SQL Server's configuration and operation. Readers will learn how to enhance performance through good physical design and effective internal storage structures. The book spells out methods for creating efficient indexes and techniques for tuning SQL Server's new query optimizer.
Network Troubleshooting Handbook by 
Networking Personal Computers with TCP/IP by
NetWare, LAN Manager, NETBIOS, DOS, Windows, Windows for Workgroups, Windows NT...Confused? Many administrators of TCP/IP-based networks are. In a world dominated by IBM-compatible Personal Computers (PCs), it is inevitable that you will be asked to add some of these systems to your network. A bewildering variety of operating systems and networks are offered for PCs. Finding your way through this maze of options can be a daunting task. Networking Personal Computers with TCP/IP gives you practical information as well as detailed instructions for attaching PCs to a TCP/IP network. It discusses the challenges you'll face and offers general advice on planning and managing a network; it provides basic TCP/IP configuration information for the most popular PC operating systems and covers the configuration of specific applications such as email, remote printing, and file sharing. The book also includes a chapter on integrating NetWare with TCP/IP and an appendix on free TCP/IP software for the PC. If you're not familiar with the basics of TCP/IP network administration, check out O'Reilly's companion book, TCP/IP Network Administration. It covers the basics of TCP/IP networking and provides detailed instructions for setting up UNIX workstations and servers on a TCP/IP network. Networking Personal Computers with TCP/IP covers: How to reduce the problems PCs can cause for network administration Tools to help a network administrator support PCs Detailed examples of TCP/IP configuration under DOS, Windows, Windows NT, Windows 95, and Novell NetWare Alternatives to custom, system-by-system configuration, including techniques for using tools such as RARP, BOOTP, and DHCP Configuration of the Post Office Protocol (POP) servers and clients that allow PC users to receive email directly at their desktops Configuration of file sharing and printer sharing.
SNA and TCP/IP Integration and Migration by
"Ed Taylor breaks down the complex SNA-TCP/IP challenge into manageable chunks. In this essential handbook, he provides everything network administrators and managers need to ensure a smooth transition from SNA to TCP/IP, or an integrated environment. No matter what your level of expertise or depth of technical knowledge, this book provides the bridges, the background, and the clear, uncompromising detail that you need to guarantee integration. Fully illustrated with diagrams, this book brings you assured guidance in design, configuration, internetworking, and maintenance." -- BOOK JACKET. Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The E-Policy Handbook by
Regulating company e-mail and Internet usage isn't a "big brother" tactic. These days, it's just smart business. That's because trillions of e-mails travel each year through corporate networks - and they're not all work-related. From off-color jokes to pornographic images, from software pirates to eBay addicts, digital abuse has left companies wide open to liability risks, security breaches, and productivity nosedives. The most effective - and least used - way for a company to protect itself is by developing clear, comprehensive e-policies. And this completely thorough, up-to-date, and readable e-policy survival kit will make it easy. Packed with step-by-step guidelines, sample policies, and e-disaster stories, The E-Policy Handbook helps readers: Realize the magnitude of e-risks * Understand cyberlaws * Gauge the vulnerability of their organization * Purchase protective cyber-insurance * Write and format top-notch e-policies * Train employees about on-line policies * Draft an e-crisis communications plan and more." "
The International Handbook of Computer Security by
This book is a one-stop resource to help executives and computer professionals protect their systems and data from a myriad of internal and external threats. Addressing a wide range of security issues, it provides practical guidance on topics such as: physical security procedures -- data preservation and protection -- hardware and software protection -- personnel management and security -- network security -- contingency planning -- legal and auditing planning and control and more.