Puerto del Sol began in 1960 as a hand-stapled literary magazine featuring art, photography, and creative writing by students of New Mexico State University.
The magazine’s origin story describes a creative writing professor who took his class to Soledad Canyon in search of buried treasure. While they did not find treasure, they left with the idea of forming a literary magazine named after a rock on the treasure map that indicated, “where the sun rises...and where the sun sets.”
Over time, the magazine expanded to include literature from creative writers all over the world. Today, Puerto del Sol's mission is the discovery, advancement, and promotion of new writing. Published semiannually, Puerto del Sol aids new writers to reach their readers on a national and international stage. The journal embodies the university motto of "BE BOLD" by showcasing contemporary, innovative and socially and historically relevant work. Puerto del Sol is fully managed by MFA candidates at New Mexico State University.
NMSU Archives and Special Collections
Materials related to the history of the University, city, and region can be found at the NMSU Archives and Special Collections. This includes all issues of Puerto del Sol magazine.
The Keith Wilson Collection
Keith Wilson was an English Professor at NMSU and a prolific writer and poet. His collection includes a number of literary journals from his personal library, including Puerto del Sol. The collection is housed in the NMSU Archives and Special Collections.
Puerto del Sol magazine
Information about purchasing back issues of Puerto del Sol magazine can be found at the magazine's website.
Digital Issues of Puerto del Sol
Digital Issues of Puerto del Sol from 2015 to the present are available for browsing through the Humanities Source Ultimate database.
Over the years, Puerto del Sol has published well-known poets and writers. Further information about many of the poets featured in the exhibit follows: