LibGuides: POLS 502: Research Methods in Government: Home

Subject Guide

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Zuhl Library Rm. 112

575-646-6926

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication Disorders, Communication Studies, Counseling & Educational Psychology, Criminal Justice, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Geography, Government, Health Sciences, Journalism, Kinesiology & Dance, Military Science, Nursing, Psychology, Public Health, School of Teacher Preparation, Administration & Leadership, Social Work, Sociology

Accessing the Library's resources from off campus

Accessing the Library's resources from off-campus

In order to access the databases while off campus, enter your myNMSU name and password when prompted.

set up a Virtual Private Network (VPN)

NMSU VPN
NMSU computer users can download and install VPN software to create a secure, encrypted connection between a remote computer and the NMSU campus network. The following clients are supported by ICT and can be used to connect to NMSU's VPN.
NMSU Library VPN Help
Extra assistance with accessing Library resource using the NMSU VPN.

Get Started in Government Research

Welcome to the research guide for Government. The resources below are a great place to start your research.

Use the menu on the left to find additional resources for finding books, articles, and more.

Find Articles

Start with these databases for finding scholarly journal articles.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School.
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) offers full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 12,000 of the world's premier scientific and scholarly journals, along with conference proceedings, book contents,and other materials. While its main focus is the sciences, it also includes arts and humanities and the social sciences.

Selected Journals for the study of Government Organizations and Public Administration

Selected Journals for Comparative Politics and International Relations

Find Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books on your research topics. You can also search the databases below for research information in e-books.

Library Catalog

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 243,158 titles in the sciences, social sciences, humanities and business.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.

Books in Government, Political Science and Public Administration can be found in the following Call Number ranges. Most will be located on the 2nd floor of the Zuhl Library:

JA1-92 Political science (General)

JC11-605 Political theory. The state.

JF20-2112 Political institutions and public administration

JF1338-2112 Public administration

JJ1000-1019 Political institutions and public administration (North America)

JK1-9993 Political institutions and public administration (United States)

JL1-3899 Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)

JN1-9689 Political institutions and public administration (Europe)

JQ21-6651 Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)

JS39-8500 Local government. Municipal government

Find U.S. Federal & New Mexico State Government Documents

Government Documents Library Guide: http://nmsu.libguides.com/governmentdocuments

The New Mexico State University Library is an official depository for documents produced by the United States and the State of New Mexico. The Library joined the Federal Depository Library Program in 1907 and currently selects 67% of all Federal depository documents available. Documents are selected to meet the research needs of New Mexico State University and the 2nd Congressional District of New Mexico, and includes areas such as agriculture, trade, statistics, federal regulations, science and technical publications, and census data. The collection is shelved according to the Superintendent of Documents Classification.

You can find the Government Documents unit on the first floor of the Branson Library and we are happy to help you navigate the world of government information. The Government Documents service desk is open daily from 10:00 am to 12:00 pm and again from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm.