Public Health

A yearly statistical report prepared by the United Health Foundation. Online statistics available since 1999.

Country and providence level data arranged in 29 broad categories, including diseases, utilization, disabilities, nutrition, patient safety, and much more.

Create graphical representations of “…how medical resources are distributed and used.” Query by year, state, region, hospital, or topic. Topics: care of chronic illness, medicare, hospital & physician capacity, quality/effective care, hospital use, medical discharges, surgical procedures, & end of life care.

Compare countries on a variety of factors: demographic, lifestyle, maternal and child health, morbidity, disability, mortality, health care & hospital utilization & expenditures. Results displayed as maps, graphs, or tables. From the World Health Organization.

Data and analyses on global health priorities. Browse by country, read reports, find fact sheets and statistics, query over 50 data sets on a wide range of topics from radiation related accidents to zoonosis. A project of the World Health Organization.

This easy to use database walks you through information queries related to national and regional estimates on hospital use, stays in hospitals for participating States, and measures of health care quality for all patients. A project of the Agency for Heal

ICPSR maintains a data archive of 500,000 research files pertaining to the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Child well-being is the focus of this site. View & compare states & counties, or create customized reports. Data includes population, race, income, disability, education, language, l& more. neighborhood characteristics. Graphs, maps and charts available.

Identify the principal language in a county or state. Useful for creating research methodology, instructional materials, and health policy.

Browse by county or type of statistic, such as health, food, environment, mortality. agriculture, crime, and many others. Graphically compare nations and generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.

Map indicators of oral health by state or county. Compare a state to the nation or to another state. Searchable database contains national & state surveys & a tool for viewing prepared tables or generating rapid statistical analyses.

Promote policies to improve the economic & social well-being of people around the world. Health data, newsletters, policy studies, reports, and news. Interesting features include road fatalities, obesity, and suicide rates.

Free access to US, state, county, and city maternal & infant health data. Create graphs & maps of results. Compare states. From the March of Dimes.

Provides data on more than 500 topics, including HIV/AIDS, Women’s Health, Medicare, and Minority Health.

Statistics related to each state. Includes Adult Health Indicators, Child and Adolescent Health Facts, Public Health Preparedness, Pandemic Preparedness, and Funding Facts.

Set aside a lot of time to explore this content-rich site. Find data by country, topic, or indicator. Includes facts about education, poverty, gender, finance, economic outlook, social development, and much more. Compare countries on hundreds of factors. Some data begins in the 1980s. Display and download results as tables, graphs, or maps.

Web-based tutorial on health statistics and evidence based practice.