It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
NMSU Library Databases
NMSU Library databases (restricted access)
These databases provide access to fulltext articles and citations and abstracts from academic journals in many fields relevant to languages and linguistics.
Academic Search Premier is a database of scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, social sciences and the like. Includes many full-text articles. It is possible to search multiple databases from the Academic Search Premier screen. Select CHOOSE DATABASES and then add other subject databases to your search.
Combines Anthropological Literature (Harvard) with the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute UK). Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is the premier database in the research fields of communication and mass media, indexing and abstracting 400 journals, 200 of which are available full text. Indexing coverage for most titles is from the early 1990s to the present. Citation searching is available from 2003 to the present.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals. This database also includes full text for 81 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is the largest education database in the world for research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. The content is updated monthly. 1966 - present.
Literary Reference Center contains full text for 27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), more than 420 literary journals, more than 569,000 book reviews, 57,000 classic and contemporary poems, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,700 author interviews, over 7,100 classic texts and much more.
Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from many journals and series published worldwide. MLA includes references for articles, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations and more. Covers 1963 - present. Can be searched together with Academic Search Premiere and includes links to fulltext available in other databases.
The largest dictionary of English, the OED is a historical dictionary: it covers the broadest range of current vocabulary and records the old uses of words and gives detailed descriptions of the history of a word.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) offers full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
CAL has earned a national and international reputation for its contributions to the fields of bilingual, English as a second language, literacy, and foreign language education; dialect studies; language policy; refugee orientation; and the education of linguistically and culturally diverse adults and children.
The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world. LINGUIST is a free resource, run by linguistics professors and graduate students...
The purpose of this site is to provide innovative, responsible and reliable knowledge in a variety of domains relevant to semiotics understood as the multidisciplinary study of information, meaning, communication, interpretation, sign systems and evolution, texts, interactions, organizations, cultural and social transformations, sense-making and all other topics that may emerge from future research, models and theories.