A select list of reference resources
Dictionary of Geology & Mineralogy by
The language of geology and mineralogy at your fingertips. Derived from the world-renowned McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Sixth Edition, this vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of geology and mineralogy or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts. Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students. The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Geology & Mineralogy, Second Edition: *Has been extensively revised, with 9,000 entries encompassing the language of geology and mineralogy * Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations *Provides pronunciations for all terms *Covers such topics as physical geology, historical geology, mineralogy, marine geology, plate tectonics, petrology, sedimentology, and stratigraphy *Includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information *Is based on the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms - for more than a quarter-of-a-century the standard international reference. Carefully reviewed for clarity, completeness, and accuracy, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Geology & Mineralogy, Second Edition, offers a standard of excellence unmatched by any similar publication.
The Encyclopedia of Field and General Geology by
Field work, supplemented by laboratory studies, is a cornerstone for the geological sciences. This volume provides an introduction to general field work through selected topics that illustrate specific techniques and methodologies. One hundred and twenty-three main entries prepared by leading authorities from around the world deal with aspects of exploration surveys, geotechnical engineering, environmental management. field techniques, mapping, prospecting, and mining. Special efforts were made to include topics that consider aspects of environmental geology in particular those subjects that involve field inspections related to, for example, the placement of artificial fills, sediment control in canals and waterways, the geologic effects of cities, or the importance of expansive soils to environmental management and engineering. In addition, some widely ranging topics dealing with legal affairs, geological methodology, the scope and organization of geology, report writing, and other concepts, such as those related to plate tectonics and continental drift, provide a necessary perspective to the arena of field geology.
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks by
This comprehensive, one-volume encyclopedia covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. It features more than 250 entries by some 180 eminent contributors from all over the world, excellent indices, cross references, and extensive bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics by 
The Facts on File Dictionary of Geology and Geophysics by 
Geostatistical Glossary and Multilingual Dictionary by
Geostatistics is a branch of mathematics that deals with the sampling, analysis, interpretation and display of phenomena that fluctuate in space. Although not all geostatistical methods are probabilistic in nature, the most important accomplishments in the field have been in estimation andforecasting, extending probabilistic methods of stochastic processes and time series analysis to the spatial domain. This book gives the only available comprehensive collection of definitions of geostatistical terms. It lists more than 600 entries selected from the book and journal literaturethrough the end of 1989. Where appropriate, multiple meanings have been included for specific terms. Cross-references abound to help the reader when the definitions of a word leads to the search for other terms. Although all the definitions are in English, equivalent terms are provided inalphabetized lists in Chinese, French, German, Greek, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. This volume will provide a useful reference for students, scientists, engineers, and others concerned with the meaning of terms found in the geostatistical literature and heard in professional practice.Definitions and entries have been prepared with multiple levels of rigor and complexity, in order to provide help to a readership that may range from inexperienced practitioners to advanced researchers.
Selected electronic reference resources:
