NMSU library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers to classify and organize books, journals and magazines.
Subclass QE
QE1-996.5 Geology
QE1-350.62 General
Including geographical divisions
QE351-399.2 Mineralogy
QE420-499 Petrology
QE500-639.5 Dynamic and structural geology
QE521-545 Volcanoes and earthquakes
QE601-613.5 Structural geology
QE640-699 Stratigraphy
QE701-760 Paleontology
QE760.8-899.2 Paleozoology
QE901-996.5 Paleobotany
A selected list of books:
A Sea Without Fish by
The region around Cincinnati, Ohio, is known throughout the world for the abundant and beautiful fossils found in limestones and shales that were deposited as sediments on the sea floor during the Ordovician Period, about 450 million years ago--some 250 million years before the dinosaurs lived. In Ordovician time, the shallow sea that covered much of what is now the North American continent teemed with marine life. The Cincinnati area has yielded some of the world's most abundant and best-preserved fossils of invertebrate animals such as trilobites, bryozoans, brachiopods, molluscs, echinoderms, and graptolites. So famous are the Ordovician fossils and rocks of the Cincinnati region that geologists use the term "Cincinnatian" for strata of the same age all over North America. This book synthesizes more than 150 years of research on this fossil treasure-trove, describing and illustrating the fossils, the life habits of the animals represented, their communities, and living relatives, as well as the nature of the rock strata in which they are found and the environmental conditions of the ancient sea.
Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology by
For a combined, one-semester, junior/senior-level course in Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology. Also useful for programs that teach Igneous Petrology and Metamorphic Petrology. Typical texts on igneous and metamorphic petrology are geared to either advanced or novice petrology students. This unique text offers comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of both igneous and metamorphic petrology in a single volume-and provides the quantitative and technical background required to critically evaluate igneous and metamorphic phenomena in a way that students at all levels can understand. The goal throughout is for students to be able to apply the techniques-and enjoy the insights of the results-rather than tinker with theory and develop everything from first principles.
Beryllium by
Volume 50 of Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry treats Beryllium and its cosmogenic isotopes. This volume includes an overview of Be studies in the earth sciences and a systematic classification of Be minerals based on their crystal structure. It treats the analysis of these minerals by the secondary ion mass spectroscopy as well as experimental studies of systems involving Be. Moreover, this volume reviews the behavior of Be in the Solar System, with an emphasis on meteorites, the Moon and Mars, and the implications of this behavior for the evolution of the solar system. It gives an overview of the terrestrial geochemistry of Be and discusses the contamination of the environment by this anthropogenic toxin. It reports use of the longer lived Be-10 to assess erosion rates and other surficial processes and how this isotope can yield independent temporal records of geomagnetic field variations for comparison with records obtained by measuring natural remnant magnetization, be a chemical tracer for processes in convergent margins, and can date events in Cenozoic tectonics. It reviews applications of the shorter lived isotope Be-7 in environmental studies as well. Residual phases include acidic plutonic and volcanic rocks, whose geochemistry and evolution are covered, while granitic pegmatites, which are well-known for their remarkable, if localized, Be enrichments and a wide variety of Be mineral assemblages, are reviewed. Not all Be concentrations have obvious magmatic affinities; for example, one class of emerald deposits results from Be being introduced by heated brines. Pelitic rocks are an important reservoir of Be in the Earth's crust and their metamorphism plays a critical role in recycling of Be in subduction zones, eventually, anatectic processes complete the cycle, providing a source of Be for granitic rocks.
Fossils, Minerals and Rocks by 
Mesozoic Fossils by
Dinosaurs weren't the only "players" on the earth during the Triassic and Jurassic geologic periods, a fact quickly proven with 415 impressive color photos of fossilized plant, animal, and avian life from that distant past! Presented along with dinosaur fossils large and small, are collectible ammonites, belemnites, crustaceans, and insects, also an impressive representation of Triassic and Jurassic fossil plants, including Araucarian conifers, cycads, and crinoids. Dinosaur tracks, "stomach stones," and coprolites are also presented.The detailed text provides a wonderful overview of the range of Mesozoic period fossils by period found around the globe, discusses the ever evolving field of fossil collecting, and explores fossils represented at nineteenth and twentieth century world's fairs. Anyone with a passion for fossil collecting, paleontology, and the Earth of our distant past will treasure this authoritative volume.
Oxygen in the Solar System by
Volume 68 of Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry reviews Oxygen in the Solar System, an element that is so critically important in so many ways to planetary science. The book is based on three open workshops: Oxygen in the Terrestrial Planets, held in Santa Fe, NM July 20-23, 2004; Oxygen in Asteroids and Meteorites, held in Flagstaff, AZ June 2-3, 2005; and Oxygen in Earliest Solar System Materials and Processes (and including the outer planets and comets), held in Gatlinburg, TN September 19-22, 2005. As a consequence of the cross-cutting approach, the final book spans a wide range of fields relating to oxygen, from the stellar nucleosynthesis of oxygen, to its occurrence in the interstellar medium, to the oxidation and isotopic record preserved in 4.56 Ga grains formed at the Solar System's birth, to its abundance and speciation in planets large and small, to its role in the petrologic and physical evolution of the terrestrial planets. Contents: Introduction Oxygen isotopes in the early Solar System - A historical perspective Abundance, notation, and fractionation of light stable isotopes Nucleosynthesis and chemical evolution of oxygen Oxygen in the interstellar medium Oxygen in the Sun Redox conditions in the solar nebula: observational, experimental, and theoretical constraints Oxygen isotopes of chondritic components Mass-independent oxygen isotope variation in the solar nebula Oxygen and other volatiles in the giant planets and their satellites Oxygen in comets and interplanetary dust particles Oxygen and asteroids Oxygen isotopes in asteroidal materials Oxygen isotopic composition and chemical correlations in meteorites and the terrestrial planets Record of low-temperature alteration in asteroids The oxygen cycle of the terrestrial planets: insights into the processing and history of oxygen in surface environments Redox conditions on small bodies, the Moon and Mars Terrestrial oxygen isotope variations and their implications for planetary lithospheres Basalts as probes of planetary interior redox state Rheological consequences of redox state
Paleoaltimetry by
Volume 66 of Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry is based on a two day short course entitled Paleoaltimetry: Geochemical and Thermodynamic Approaches held prior to the Geological Society of American annual meeting in Denver, Colorado (October 26-27, 2007). This meeting and volume were sponsored by the Geochemical Society, Mineralogical Society of America, and the United States Department of Energy. Contents: The Significance of Paleotopography Stable Isotope-Based Paleoaltimetry: Theory and Validation Paleoelevation Reconstruction Using Pedogenic Carbonates Stable Isotope Paleoaltimetry in Orogenic Belts - The Silicate Record in Surface and Crustal Geological Archives Paleoaltimetry from Stable Isotope Compositions of Fossils A Review of Paleotemperature-Lapse Rate Methods for Estimating Paleoelevation from Fossil Floras Paleoaltimetry: A Review of Thermodynamic Methods Paleoelevation Measurement on the Basis of Vesicular Basalts Stomatal Frequency Change Over Altitudinal Gradients: Prospects for Paleoaltimetry Thermochronologic Approaches to Paleotopography Terrestrial Cosmogenic Nuclides as Paleoaltimetric Proxies
Paleobotany by
This book provides up-to-date coverage of fossil plants from Precambrian life to flowering plants, including fungi and algae. It begins with a discussion of geologic time, how organisms are preserved in the rock record, and how organisms are studied and interpreted and takes the student through all the relevant uses and interpretations of fossil plants. With new chapters on additional flowering plant families, paleoecology and the structure of ancient plant communities, fossil plants as proxy records for paleoclimate, new methodologies used in phylogenetic reconstruction and the addition of new fossil plant discoveries since 1993, this book provides the most comprehensive account of the geologic history and evolution of microbes, algae, fungi, and plants through time.
The Earth in Turmoil by
Organized according to region, The Earth in Turmoil focuses on volcanic and seismic hazards across the United States, offering vivid accounts of past disasters and predictions for the future.
Theoretical and Computational Methods in Mineral Physics by
Volume 71 of Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry represents an extensive review of the material presented by the invited speakers at a short course on Theoretical and Computational Methods in Mineral Physics held prior (December 10-12, 2009) to the Annual fall meeting of the American Geophysical Union in San Francisco, California. The meeting was held at the Doubletree Hotel & Executive Meeting Center in Berkeley, California. Contents: Density functional theory of electronic structure: a short course for mineralogists and geophysicists The Minnesota density functionals and their applications to problems in mineralogy and geochemistry Density-functional perturbation theory for quasi-harmonic calculations Thermodynamic properties and phase relations in mantle minerals investigated by first principles quasiharmonic theory First principles quasiharmonic thermoelasticity of mantle minerals An overview of quantum Monte Carlo methods Quantum Monte Carlo studies of transition metal oxides Accurate and efficient calculations on strongly correlated minerals with the LDA+U method: review and perspectives Spin-state crossover of iron in lower-mantle minerals: results of DFT+U investigations Simulating diffusion Modeling dislocations and plasticity of deep earth materials Theoretical methods for calculating the lattice thermal conductivity of minerals Evolutionary crystal structure prediction as a method for the discovery of minerals and materials Multi-Mbar phase transitions in minerals Computer simulations on phase transitions in ice Iron at Earth's core conditions from first principles calculations First-principles molecular dynamics simulations of silicate melts: structural and dynamical properties Lattice dynamics from force-fields as a technique for mineral physics An efficient cluster expansion method for binary solid solutions: application to the halite-silvite, NaCl-KCl, system Large scale simulations Thermodynamics of the Earth's mantle
Thermodynamics and Kinetics of Water-Rock Interaction by
Volume 70 of Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry represents an extensive review of the material presented by the invited speakers at a short course on Thermodynamics and Kinetics of Water-Rock Interaction held prior to the 19th annual V. M. Goldschmidt Conference in Davos, Switzerland (June 19-21, 2009). Contents: Thermodynamic Databases for Water-Rock Interaction Thermodynamics of Solid Solution-Aqueous Solution Systems Mineral Replacement Reactions Thermodynamic Concepts in Modeling Sorption at the Mineral-Water Interface Surface Complexation Modeling: Mineral Fluid Equilbria at the Molecular Scale The Link Between Mineral Dissolution/Precipitation Kinetics and Solution Chemistry Organics in Water-Rock Interactions Mineral Precipitation Kinetics Towards an Integrated Model of Weathering, Climate, and Biospheric Processes Approaches to Modeling Weathered Regolith Fluid-Rock Interaction: A Reactive Transport Approach Geochemical Modeling of Reaction Paths and Geochemical Reaction Networks
A selected list of electronic books:
Precambrian Crustal Evolution in the North Atlantic Region by 
The Little Book of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
In this lay reader's introduction to the most spectacular and devastating of all geological events, Rolf Schick describes how earthquakes and volcanoes are related, and how they are an integral part of Earth's structure. Tracing the latest findings and theories in plate tectonics, he helps readers ask and answer the basic questions: What was it during the formation of Earth that led to these phenomena? Why do they occur in certain areas and not in others? How can we, within reason, protect ourselves from their devastation? And how far have we come, and how far can we go, in predicting when they will strike? For the reader who wants a concise and accessible guide to what makes the ground shake and explode, this is the perfect introduction.
Geology by
"Geology" provides essential reference information structured as an overview of the basics of earth science. Covering 83 core topics in geochemistry, geomorphology, geophysics, glacial geology, mineralogy, and crystallography, paleontology and earth history, petroleum geology and engineering, petrology, sedimentology, stratigraphy, structural geology and tectonics.
The Colorado Plateau by
Written with the general reader in mind, this is the updated edition of the classic on the geology of the red rock and canyon country of the Fours Corners region of Utah, Colorado, Arizona, and New Mexico.
Geodiversity by
A counterpoint to biodiversity, geodiversity describes the rocks, sediments, soils, fossils, landforms, and the physical processes that underlie our environment. The first book to focus exclusively on the subject, Geodiversity describes the interrelationships between geodiversity and biodiversity, the value of geodiversity to society, as well as current threats to its existence. Illustrated with global case studies throughout, the book examines traditional approaches to protecting biodiversity and the new management agenda which is starting to be used instead.
Engineering Properties of Soil and Rocks by
Civil engineers, mining engineers and engineering geologists require a working knowledge of the engineering properties and behavior of the different soil and rock types, and this is not provided in the standard texts on soil and on rock mechanics. This book provides extensive data on individual soil and rock types and deals in some depth with their composition, texture, degree of weathering and presence of fissures or discontinuities. It also considers the description and classification of soils and rocks. The Fourth Edition has been extensively revised and enlarged by fifty percent, with four new chapters on ? Silts, Loess and Brickearth ? Igneous and Metamorphic Rock ? Arenaceous and Argillaceous Rocks and ? Carbonate and Evaporitic Rocks. The latter three chapters deal not only with the geomechanical properties and behavior of these rocks but also with their durability. The book also considers properties in terms of construction materials (e.g. building stone, bricks, aggregate) and mentions methods of dealing with problem soils, groundwater, etc. The book will be of particular value to professionals in geotechnical and geological engineering and also to senior students.
Sedimentary Rocks in the Field by
This handy pocket-sized guide shows how to achieve successful fieldwork on sedimentary rocks, paying particular detail to the precision and accuracy of recording detail. Various sedimentary rock-types, textures and all the basic field techniques required are clearly described. Thoroughly revised to incorporate up-to-date information, this 3rd edition will be of use to all students and professionals with a geological background. Features include: New sections on safety in the field, the use of GPS in sedimentary studies, core description, fossils as depth indicators and facies models. Improved illustrations and a new updated layout.
Geology and Landscape of Michigan's Pictured Rocks N by
A field guide to the geology and scenery of northern Michigan's Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore.