A select list of reference works:
A Field Manual for the Amateur Geologist by
This fascinating guide is an important resource you'll want to have with you on any outdoor vacation, nature walk, or rock hunting expedition. A Field Manual for the Amateur Geologist not only describes the science of geology, but also shows you how to do geology in the field. This book introduces the geologist's core concepts, tools, and techniques and requires no prior training in geology. Beginners will learn to identify landforms, minerals, rocks, and fossils and experience, firsthand, all the excitement of geological discovery. More experienced "rockhounds" will find a wealth of useful information as well, including: * Easy-to-use mineral keys and landform keys * Unique chapters on the geologist's approach, exploring the geology of North American national parks, sleuthing stones, and prospecting for gold * Over 200 photographs and drawings * Lists of geological museums, geological surveys, and other resources Whether you are an amateur geologist, fossil hunter, naturalist, or simply a traveler with an inquiring mind, this handy field manual is sure to become a constant companion on your explorations of our planet.
Handbook of Paleozoology by
A comprehensive yet compact guide for laboratory, classroom, and field use, Handbook of Paleozoology covers the morphology, classification, and distribution of ancient animal life throughout the world. This unique, heavily illustrated compendium presents useful information in a ready-reference format for everyone who studies, collects, and works with fossils. Unlike most general accounts of paleozoology, the Handbook deals with both vertebrates and invertebrates. Physical features and taxonomical classifications are clearly and concisely described, with geographical and temporal ranges that enable the fossils to be located in geological time. More than 170 multipart line drawings appear throughout the book, comparing different groups and offering detailed views of particular species. The book provides a superb introduction for students and an excellent field consultation and review resource for specialists.
Handbook of Practical Coal Geology by
Contains background information on the chemical and physical properties of coal--its nature, origins, various types and classification on a global basis. Highlights currently known geographical distribution of coals, their ages, recent production figures and major exporter countries. Essential exploration techniques and procedures, together with standards of geological practice, are described. The geologist's role in data collection, sampling, the calculation of resources/reserves, geotechnical studies as well as the preparation of geological reports are examined.
Laboratory Manual in Physical Geology by
Revised throughout for enhanced clarity and accuracy and with a greater emphasis on the process of science this user-friendly, best-selling laboratory manual examines the basic principles of geology and their applications to everyday life. Students are encouraged to view these principles in terms of natural resources, natural hazards, and human risks. This trusted resource features contributions from highly regarded geologists and geoscience educators, with an exceptional illustration program by Dennis Tasa.
Manual of Field Geology by 
Soils and Quaternary Geology by
During the Quaternary period, the geological epoch covering the last 1.8 million years, major climatic fluctuations and widespread glaciation had a marked impact on soil characteristics and distribution patterns in the northern hemisphere. This handbook summarizes the evidence for climatic change derived from deposits of land areas and from deep ocean sediments. The author considers soil patterns in eastern England, the midwestern United States, the Netherlands, Belgium, and northern France, examines the main Quaternary processes influencing soil patterns, and outlines their effects at various scales.
Stress and Deformation by
Students of geology who may have only a modest background in mathematics need to become familiar with the theories of stress, strain, and other tensor quantities, so that they can follow, and apply to their own research, developments in modern, quantitative geology. This book, based on acourse taught by the author at UCLA, can provide the proper introduction. Included throughout the eight chapters are 136 complex problems, advancing from vector algebra in standard and subscript notations, to the mathematical description of finite strain and its compounding and decomposition.Fully worked solutions to the problems make up the largest part of the book. With their help, students can monitor their progress, and geologists will be able to utilize subscript and matrix notations and formulate and solve tensor problems on their own. The book can be successfully used by anyonewith some training in calculus and the rudiments of differential equations.
