Ever wondered what the Old West was like? Well, it was a pivotal time in American history and the Archives and Special Collections (ASC) has recently acquired the Henn-Johnson Library and Local History Archives Foundation Collection that captures the period. Earlier this month, several members of the ASC staff traveled to Lincoln, New Mexico to pick up the collection. The collection is a great resource because it provides a glimpse into New Mexico's historical events and individuals like the Lincoln County War, Billy the Kid, and other people connected to the region. The collection sheds light on the area’s rich and colorful history.
ASC Staff: Teddie Moreno, Dennis Daily and Jennifer Olguin
The historical material was collected by the late Nora Johnson Henn (May 23, 1925-May 15, 2011). Nora collected approximately 100 linear feet of material, using these primary and secondary sources to publish her own historical writings on Lincoln County. The material was previously housed at the former Nora and Walter Henn residence/Henn-Johnson Library and Archives research facility, a couple of miles away from the village historic district. Materials that comprise the Henn collection include county and federal records that relate to Lincoln County, family genealogical material on pioneer families who resided for generations in the region, correspondence between various historians, and maps just to name a few items found among the collection. Another sizable portion of the collection are materials collected by another historian Alice Blakestad. The Blakestad material focuses on local genealogical information relating to families within the vicinity of Lincoln County region.
Henn-Johnson Library and Local History Archives Foundation Collection housed in the NMSU ASC
These papers are a great resource for novice or seasoned researchers who are seeking historical research relating to the Lincoln County War and other Lincoln material. In addition to the Henn-Johnson Library and Local History Archives Foundation Collection, the ASC has several other Lincoln, NM-based archival collections such as the Herman B. Weisner papers, Pat Garrett family papers, Blazer family papers, and the Lewis A. Ketring Jr. collection.
For those wishing to consult the Henn-Johnson Library and Local History Archives Foundation Collection or any other related collection, the ASCis currently open to all researchers Monday through Friday, 9am-4pm. The Caroline E. Stras Research Room is located in Branson Library, 4th floor. We are happy to provide virtual reference services for those who cannot visit our facility in person.
0 Comments.