LibGuides: Public History: Historic Preservation

Find Articles

Databases

Databases can yield search results in the hundreds. To locate relevant sources quickly and efficiently, consider using database advance search options. Narrow your results by publication date, language, subject, author, full text, etc. If you find you're still overwhelmed, ask a librarian for research assistance.

Some databases may be restricted to a number of simultaneous users. If you are unable to access materials, try back later or contact a librarian.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; regional focus on the United States and other countries in North America.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
National Park Service publications for historic preservation, as well as laws, etc. dealing with historic preservation can be found here.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database features full text for more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Sanborn Digital Maps: New Mexico This link opens in a new window
Use the digital Sanborn maps to view historic maps of New Mexico. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.

Journals

This list is not comprehensive. Visit the NMSU Library online to search journal titles. Historic preservation can also include elements of archaeology, urban planning, geography, and other fields of study. Consider broadening your search terms to yield the best results.

Government Resources

Links to U.S. government resources and organizations relating to historic preservation.

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation promotes the preservation, enhancement, and sustainable use of our nation’s diverse historic resources, and advises the President and the Congress on national historic preservation policy.
National Park Service - Preservation
Resources and information on NPS preservation activities and general preservation advice and techniques.
National Park Service - Preservation Publications
NPS publications regarding historic preservation, including Preservation Briefs, which provide guidance on preserving, rehabilitating, and restoring historic buildings.
The National Historic Preservation Act
The National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, last amended in 2006.
Federal Historic Preservation Laws
Individual laws relating to historic preservation in the United States.

Professional Organizations

These are just a few of the many historic preservation organizations in existence; beyond the national organizations, each state will likely have organizations committed to historic preservation as well.

National Trust for Historic Preservation
A privately funded nonprofit organization working to save America’s historic places. The website also provides access to Preservation Magazine, the Trust's quarterly publication.
New Mexico Historic Preservation Division
The New Mexico Historic Preservation Division identifies and protects New Mexico's cultural resources, including its archaeological sites, architectural and engineering achievements, cultural landscapes and diverse heritage.
Dona Ana County Historical Society
The Dona Ana County Historical Society is committed to encouraging and promoting a greater appreciation and knowledge of the historical and cultural heritage of Southern New Mexico since 1963.
National Alliance of Preservation Commissions
The National Alliance of Preservation Commissions is dedicated to supporting local historic preservation commissions and the historic resources they help protect.
National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers
Founded in 1998, the Association is a national, non-profit corporation comprised of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers and associate member tribes. NATHPO's overarching purpose is to support the preservation, maintenance and revitalization of the culture and traditions of Native peoples of the United States.