LibGuides: Public History: Local History

Research

Primary Sources: Local Repositories

NMSU Library: Archives & Special Collections
NMSU Library has a large collection of historic images, documents, and artifacts. If you can't make it to Branson Library in person, check out the digital collections online!
Border Heritage Center (El Paso, TX)
Photographic collections from the El Paso Public Library.
C. L. Sonnichsen Special Collections (UTEP)
The book collections include the Chicano Collection, the Judaica Collection, the S. L. A. Marshall Military History Collection, the Southwest and Border Studies Collection, as well as collections of art and rare books. In addition to printed sources, the department has manuscript and archival collections available.
Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections
The Center for Southwest Research (CSWR) specializes in interdisciplinary subjects relating to New Mexico, the Southwestern U.S., Mexico and Latin America, as well as rare materials from around the world. Here you'll find materials related to Native American, Chicano/Hispano, Spanish Colonial, and environmental history, plus a wide range of locally published and archival materials documenting the region.

Sanborn Digital Maps: New Mexico This link opens in a new window
Use the digital Sanborn maps to view historic maps of New Mexico. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.

New Mexico Archives Online
The Online Archive of New Mexico is a source of information about archival collections in New Mexico hosted by the University of New Mexico.
State Records Center and Archives (NM)
The NM Commission of Public Records preserves, protects and facilitates access to public records that are held in trust for the people of New Mexico.
The Portal to Texas History
The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections. We hope you'll return often to discover our latest additions.

Primary Sources: Online Newspapers

Las Cruces Sun-News (NM)
The Las Cruces Sun-News provides news, sports, community information and more for Las Cruces, New Mexico. Local coverage includes community calendar and notices, celebrations, Doña Ana County and city council information, police reports, and local school information. (2004-Present)
El Paso Times (Texas)
The El Paso Times has proudly served far West Texas and southern New Mexico residents since 1881.
New Mexico Newspapers Database
This database of New Mexico newspapers contains mostly descriptive information about the newspapers and where copies are available. No one institution holds every newspaper, but this database will assist researchers in locating where the newspapers may be found.

Journals

Journal of the Southwest
Journal of Geology
Some articles may not be available.

Visit

Museums

New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum
The interactive museum, which has welcomed visitors from all over the world, brings to life the 3,000-year history of farming and ranching in New Mexico. The enormous main building contains more than 24,000 square feet of exhibit space, along with catering space for meetings and events, a mercantile and theater. (Las Cruces, New Mexico)
Railroad Museum
Located in a historic Santa Fe Railroad depot, the Las Cruces Railroad Museum interprets the railroad history of Las Cruces and the impact of the railroad on Southern New Mexico. (Las Cruces, New Mexico)
Branigan Cultural Center
The Branigan Cultural Center hosts a permanent local history exhibit and changing cultural exhibits, as well as educational programs, classes, and other special events. The building is on the National and State Registries of Historic Buildings. (Las Cruces, New Mexico)
New Mexico Museum of Space History
The mission of the museum is to educate the people of New Mexico and our visitors from around the world in the history, science, and technology of space. The museum stresses the significant role that the state of New Mexico has played in the development of the U.S. Space Program through collecting, preserving, and interpreting significant artifacts relevant to the history of space. (Alamogordo, New Mexico)
New Mexico History Museum
The New Mexico History Museum is a part of the Museum of New Mexico system. (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
Museum of New Mexico
The Museum of New Mexico (system) includes 4 museums and 6 historic sites. See also: Museum of New Mexico Foundation (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
El Paso Museum of History
The El Paso Museum of History exists for the educational benefit of the community and visitors. It promotes the understanding and significance of the rich multicultural and multinational history of the border region known as The Pass of the North. Through exhibits and programs, the Museum involves diverse audiences in exploring varieties of human experience and encourages individuals to explore the past and reflect on their own place in history. (El Paso, Texas)

Historic Societies

Dona Ana County
Committed to encouraging and promoting a greater appreciation and knowledge of the historical and cultural heritage of Southern New Mexico since 1963.
Office of the State Historian (NM)
The Office of the State Historian is a division of the Commission of Public Records, State Records Center and Archives.
Historical Society of New Mexico
The Historical Society of New Mexico is an active group of New Mexico history enthusiasts. In addition to sponsoring an annual history conference and speakers bureau, the society is dedicated to: Increasing the knowledge of New Mexico history; Disseminating information on New Mexico history; Encouraging preservation of historic objects and property
El Paso County Historical Society
EPCHS strives to foster research into the history of the El Paso area; acquire and make available to the public historic materials; publish and encourage historical writing pertaining to the area; and to develop public consciousness of our rich heritage.