LibGuides: Latin American Geography: Websites

Subject Guide

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Zuhl Library Rm. 112

575-646-6926

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication Disorders, Communication Studies, Counseling & Educational Psychology, Criminal Justice, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Geography, Government, Health Sciences, Journalism, Kinesiology & Dance, Military Science, Nursing, Psychology, Public Health, School of Teacher Preparation, Administration & Leadership, Social Work, Sociology

General Background Web Sites

ELDIS
A service from the Institute of Development Studies in the UK, ELDIS is home to thousands of research and policy papers and documents relating to international development and the environment.
Google News
Google News provides links to current media from all over the world. Change main country of origin of the news to retrieve coverage from different locations. Use the News Archive link, http://news.google.com/archivesearch to retrieve older stories.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use google search engine for access to scholarly articles, books, papers, etc.

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
LLILAS Benson Digital Collections
Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) maintains one of world’s largest collections of digital assets on Latin American studies, which includes unique archives in the areas of human rights, indigenous languages, and the first books published in the Americas.
Latin American Geography Links via LANIC
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
Access to webpages and data on all countries in the region. Browse by country or subject (eg., Geography & Environment).

Statistical Web Sites

Data Census Gove
The definitive site for data from the US Census Bureau.
CEPALSTAT Databases & Statistical Publications
Economic Commission for Latin America & the Caribbean
ECLAC/CEPAL, headquartered in Santiago, Chile, is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America and reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world.
Latin American Statistical Sources
Country-specific national and regional statistics in Spanish or Portuguese language, compiled by Cornell University.
OECD Latin America & Caribbean
OECD helps governments foster prosperity and fight poverty through economic growth and financial stability.
UNData
Developed by the United Nations Satatistics Division, this portal searches all major UN databases. Databases from UN organizations covering trade, industry, commodities, development, tourism and the environment. Coverage: 1945-present.

Associations and Organizations

Association of American Geographers
Since 1904, the AAG has served to advance professional studies in geography; it's the leading professional organization in the U.S.

American Geographical Society
The AGS is the oldest professional geographical organization in the U.S., founded in 1851.

Latin American Studies Association
LASA's mission is to foster intellectual discussion, research, and teaching on Latin America, the Caribbean, and its people.