LibGuides: Latin American Geography: Finding Articles

NMSU Library Databases

NMSU Library databases

Access these databases and others from the Library Databases A-Z list.

Those listed below provide the best access to geography research; some databases are specific to a discipline; others cover a wide variety of subjects. The database will often provide access to fulltext articles, or will link to the online journal if the library has a subscription.

In addition to the article databases, use the Electronic Journals page to find out if a journal is available online. You can search for the titles of individual journals or browse a list of journals by subject. The geography journals are listed in the category: Earth & Environmental Sciences. Several hundred titles are listed in the various disciplines in this subject area. The links will take you to the homepage of the online journal, or to the database that provides access to the contents of the journal.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of all academic disciplines, including more than 100 titles relating to geography and 170 titles relating to environmental studies and ecology.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Coverage: 1970 - pres
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts in several thousand history journals for both American and World history. Coverage: 1964-present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines Anthropological Literature (Harvard) with the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute UK). Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
CABDirect This link opens in a new window
Index to international literature in agriculture, with access to book, conference proceedings and journal articles back to 1973.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes research publications from 1982 to the present on resource and ecosystems management and modeling, the impact of climate, water resources, soil, and man on the environment, and growing environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
More than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s as well as more than 120 monographs. Also contains full text for more than 680 journals. Subject areas: ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database provides access to material in geology and the earth sciences. Coverage: 1785-present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers scholarly, government and general-interest titles that cover all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to social sciences and humanities literature on Latin America. Coverage: 1935 – present.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This database provides thousands of fulltext government reports and articles on security topics, including international border issues and other geography topics. Link using the Library Article Databases page to avoid being asked for a userid & password.
Latin America Digital Beats This link opens in a new window
A collaborative initiative sponsored by the University Libraries, Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center, and the Law Library. This service hosts scholarly work by UNM faculty and researchers, graduate student theses and dissertations, UNM Archives documents and records, open access electronic journals and monographs, and a variety of research and educational collections about New Mexico and the Southwest. Fulltext articles on Latin American news, economics, politics; 1986 - 2018.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
Fulltext scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
REDALYC - Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal This link opens in a new window
About 800 open access journals are searchable through this database.
Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) This link opens in a new window
SciELO is a collection of more than 800 open access electronic journals published in Latin American countries. For research publications in History, see the Humanities and Social Sciences collections, or search across the whole database. Languages: Spanish, Portuguese, English.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from journals, conferences and reports covering engineering, scientific and environmental perspectives on water resources. Coverage: 1967-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Keyword and citation searching in the literature of the sciences and social sciences. Access to the content of several thousand journals with full abstracts and links to fulltext if NMSU subscribes to the journal. Coverage from 1985-present.

Latin American Geography

Subject Guide

Accessing the Library's resources from off campus

Accessing the Library's resources from off-campus

NMSU Library Databases

NMSU Library databases