Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Instruction Program

Library Instruction for Faculty's Courses

Library instruction is for faculty interested in having a librarian visit their class. For individual help understanding and navigating Library resources, please contact the Reference Desk via any of the methods on the Library's Ask Us! page

Spring 2021 Library Instruction COVID-19 Response

Because of the restrictions around COVID-19, the library instruction labs are currently closed. 

As such, the only instruction we are able to offer for Spring 2021 is online library instruction. Please see the table below for for more information, or view the "Adding Library Resources into your Canvas Course" tab to learn about our basic library instruction module.

We're so sorry for the inconvenience and we are committed to providing your students the same quality library instruction as an in-person instruction session. 

Options for Library Instruction

Library Instruction Options

Description

Library Orientation

Includes Library Orientation Module in Canvas (in-person orientation not available for Academic year 2020/2021 due to COVID-19). Coming 2021: Archives Orientation Module and Graduate Student Orientation Module.

Integrating a Library or Archives Resource into Canvas

Includes integrating the Library Orientation Module in Canvas, course-specific material, etc.

Instruction Session with a Librarian or Archivist

Librarian or Archivist will consult with you to create a Zoom-delivered, cloud-recorded, instruction session with specific learning outcomes outside of the topics covered in the Library Orientation module, (in-person instruction session not available for Academic year 2020/2021 due to COVID-19), etc.

Assignment Creation Consultation with a Librarian or Archivist

Includes help creating assignments with a Library focus, recommended resources to complement assignments, etc.

Embedded Librarian in your Course

Embedding a Librarian in your Canvas Course. Regular, planned interaction with a Librarian within your Canvas course (in-person embedded librarian option not available for Academic year 2020/2021 due to COVID-19), etc.

Library or Archives Workshop For more information, see the Workshops tab on the left. (COMING SOON! Currently under construction and not available.)

Reserve a Library Instruction Lab

**Not available for Academic year 2020/2021 due to COVID-19.

Reserve the Zuhl or Branson Instruction Lab. Please read the rules for reserving before making a request.

Library or Archives Tour

**Not available for Academic year 2020/2021 due to COVID-19.

Tour of Zuhl and/or Branson Libraries, or Archives & Special Collections, or Government Documents.